Sunday, 16 February 2020

The Forgotten Girls by Lizzie Page - Books On Tour Review



Elaine was typing out letters from POWs and reminding herself that she would not cry. Poor Sam in Burma doubted whether he would ever see his children again. ‘Tell them they mean the world to me.’ Come on, Sam. Elaine wanted to reach out into the letter, hold his hand. Hang in thereIf only he knew that she was half a world away, reading, listening…

London, 1943. German bombs rain down on London, but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from far-away prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. As she pores over each tearful letter from a soldier to his family far away, she’s not only making sure the notes reach their destinations, but also looking for secret messages hidden between the lines to help the allies win the war.

At home, Elaine’s life isn’t so simple. What the other clerical girls don’t know is that Elaine’s family isn’t respectable, and with her parents long dead, it’s up to Elaine to make ends meet. But with one brother increasingly in trouble with the law, and the other suffering a violent breakdown, it doesn’t leave Elaine much time to consider her own future hopes and dreams.

And then Elaine meets dark-haired and passionate Bobby – a wartime photographer on the dangerous front line – and her world shifts. The uncertainties of war feel more personal than ever. Will Elaine be forced to choose between her difficult family and her growing passion for Bobby? And how do you let yourself love someone with your whole heart when each moment could be their last?

A heartbreaking World War Two novel – emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Orphan TrainSold on a Monday and Before We Were Yours.
        
My Review

I am a big fan of Lizzie Page's books so I was excited to read The Forgotten Girls. I was not disappointed, once again she has written a splendid book. 

Told from two different time frames we get to know about Elaine and her dalliance with a famous photographer. In the present her children and grandchildren are learning about her for a documentary being made about her beau, Robert.

I absolutely loved reading the parts with Elaine and Robert. Finding love during wartime. Their relationship was very special, although Elaine definitely had some misgivings. Robert was a very brave photographer who went to battle zones to take pictures.
 
Lizzie Page has produced a piece of writing that I loved and I can't wait to read more. The Forgotten Girls is a brilliant book and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The part written by Lizzie Page about the real life people she based the characters on was absolutely fascinating. 

Author Bio

Lizzie loves reading ALL the books and has always loved reading the adventures of women in the past so it seemed natural to her to write historical fiction.

She lives with her family by the sea in South East England. And with her dog. She enjoys traveling and lived in Japan for several years. Lizzie has had lots of different jobs from waitressing and teaching to admin and bingo-calling - but being a writer is her absolute favourite.

She'd love to hear what you think of her books - feel free to send her a message on twitter @LizziePagewrite or on FB or leave a review on amazon.

Author Social Media Links:

SHARE:

No comments

Post a comment

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig