Thursday, 5 December 2019

The Lies We Hide by S.E Lynes - Books On Tour Review



The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner…

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At ten years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful read for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.  

My Review

I absolutely loved The Lies We Hide, it's such an emotionally charged book. All the way through I could have cried for Carol and her children. Carol just wants the best for her son and daughter, but this is hampered by her **** of a husband. 

Susie Lynes is such a talented author, she drew me into Carol's world and made me feel so many emotions. The Lies We Hide is a novel about domestic abuse, but there is so much more to the story. It is about love, sacrifice, guilt, and family bonds.

Set across three different time periods and told from different perspective, it is a truly immersive book. I just sunk into it and couldn't stop reading. Some of the scenes were upsetting, but important to the story. They give a glimpse of Carol's suffering and the difficulties she has faced. I felt such a wide range of emotions whilst reading, anger, sadness, happiness and just an overall feeling that this is an outstanding book!

I think my favourite parts to read were the parts featuring Carol's son, Graham. His story and character brought something really special to the book. I particularly enjoyed reading about the friendship between him and Richard. It is an unlikely friendship for many reasons, but it totally worked and I loved it. They just seemed to understand and help each other a lot. As much as I had a lot of sympathy for Carol's plight, my heart just broke for Graham.

Susie Lynes has written a very special novel, a dark, domestic and emotional read that will stay in my mind for a long time. I can't wait to see what she has up her sleeve for her next book.



Author Bio

Amazon best selling author of 'intelligent and haunting' psychological thrillers VALENTINA, MOTHER, THE PACT, THE PROPOSAL and THE WOMEN. 

S E Lynes is a writer, tutor and mentor. Formerly a BBC producer, she has lived in France, Spain, Scotland, Italy, and now lives in Greater London with her husband, three kids and her dog, Lola. 

Her critically acclaimed debut, VALENTINA, was published by Blackbird Digital Books in July 2016. Her second novel, MOTHER was published by Bookouture in 2017, followed in 2018 by THE PACT and THE PROPOSAL. In August 2018, VALENTINA was published in a new edition by Bookouture and THE WOMEN was released in 2019. Her new novel, the dark and gripping family drama, THE LIES WE HIDE, is published Dec 4th 2019.

Susie Lynes has also published two children's books in Italy: Il Leopardo Lampo and La Coccodrilla Ingamba, both available at Amazon.it


Find her on:
Facebook S E Lynes Author
Twitter @SELynesAuthor  
SHARE:

1 comment

  1. Thank you for reviewing this book in such a manner. I think that this piece has been successfully created by the author.

    ReplyDelete

Murder of Linda Bailey Brown

© Booking Good Read
BLOGGER TEMPLATE HANDMADE BY pipdig